Helping you understand Welsh law

Introduction to European law

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political partnership between 28 European states, including the United Kingdom.  The European Union we know today is the product of a process of evolution and change spanning more than sixty years. 

There is a large and growing body of European Union law which binds the United Kingdom and its citizens.  European Union laws form a significant part of our legal system, and influence many areas of our daily life.  The Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU) distinguishes between three types of competence (i.e. areas within the remit of the EU) and draws up a non-exhaustive list of the fields concerned in each case.

European Union law is binding within the UK and prevails where there is a conflict with UK law. Powers devolved to the National Assembly for Wales and transferred to the Welsh Ministers must be exercised in accordance with European Union law.

General information on European Union legislation and its relevance to Wales can be found on the National Assembly’s website.

There are currently no articles about this topic