Helping you understand Welsh law

Health Service bodies

Part 2 of the National Health Service (Wales) Act 2006 (NHSWA 2006) makes provision about ‘Health Service Bodies’ in Wales. For the purposes of NHSWA 2006 those Health Service Bodies are Local Health Boards (LHBs) (sections 11-17), NHS Trusts (sections 18-21), and Special Health Authorities (SHAs) (sections 22-25). This page provides further information on the constitution and functions of these health service bodies.

There are significant differences between the health service bodies currently in operation in Wales and those in operation in England. Care should be taken when seeking to analyse or compare the organisational structure of the NHS in England and Wales. In particular, the National Health Service Act 2006, as it applies in England, provides for the following bodies which do not have functions in relation to Wales:

• the National Health Service Commissioning Board;
• Clinical Commissioning Groups;
• Strategic Health Authorities (provisions repealed by the Health and Social Care Act 2012);
• Primary Care Trusts (provisions repealed by the Health and Social Care Act 2012);
• NHS Foundation Trusts;
• Trust Special Administrators.

There are currently no articles about this topic